Online Workshop: Making Space for Social Medicine in Medical School Curricula: Transnational Perspectives and Pedagogy

Posted on April 13, 2022

Presentations – Teaching Materials – Discussions 

Illness and healing can never fully be separated from social context. Yet while medical education around the world has legible standards for bioscientific subject materials, we are far more uneven in how we teach the social sciences necessary for the study of health and medicine.  This event, sponsored by the Global Social Medicine Network, brings together educators from four continents on the challenges and opportunities for teaching social medicine in the 21st century.

KEY SPEAKERS: 

  • Junji Haruta (Keio University, Japan)
  • Helena Hansen (University of California Los Angeles, US)
  • David Jones (Harvard University, US)
  • Kenneth Camargo (Rio de Janeiro State University, Brazil)
  • Kelly Knight (University of California San Francisco, US)
  • Carla Tsampiras (University of Cape Town, South Africa)
  • Nathan Ha & Marco Ramos (Yale University, US)
  • Barry Saunders (University of North Carolina/Chapel Hill, US).

Organised by: Jeremy Greene, Helena Hansen, Junko Kitanaka, Francisco Ortega, and Michelle Pentecost


TIME:

1 June 2022

Los Angeles, USA                   13:00 PDT
New York, USA                        16:00 EDT
Rio de Janeiro, Brazil              17:00 BRT
London, United Kingdom      21:00 BST
Barcelona, Spain                    22:00 CEST
Cape Town, South Africa      22:00 SAST

 

2 June 2022

Tokyo, Japan                           05:00 JST


FREE tickets

register you attendance: https://www.eventbrite.co.uk/e/global-social-medicine-network-online-workshop-tickets-319707332237?aff=ebdssbdestsearch